“I was born in England, but I grew up here in the village, not far from Poros. My mother is English, my father is Greek. They met in Greece when my mom came for holidays to Porto Cheli, a coastal town an hour drive from here. My father used to work there as a barman in a local hotel. When my mom went back, my dad went to find her in England and that was it. They stayed 2 years in England and then came to Greece. My father had a farm with a lot of sheep where we all used to help as kids. We helped to milk the sheep every morning and every evening. Once you know how to do it properly it doesn’t take long, a few minutes maybe. We also collected the sheep’s wool which my dad would sell or my grandma would make warm tops out of. I still have them actually, they last for a long time. We also had chickens which we would feed in the morning, collect eggs everyday and then close them for the night so that the foxes don’t come steal them. We basically lived off our land, we could be self sustainable pretty much. Some people still do it here in the area.

I have 2 sisters and 2 brothers, they all live in England at the moment, they moved there about 4 years ago together with my parents. I’m the only one here. My older sister is 31 now, she is married and has 2 kids herself. My one brother is 28, then my younger sister who is 18 and my baby brother who is 15. I go and visit them once a year and they come visit every summer. Growing up in this area was really nice. I especially enjoyed summers as we would swim everyday from June till September. We had a very nice childhood. We were outside all the time. My youngest brother spends most of the time in the house in England, it’s not the same. As a young girl I also used to enjoy painting nails, but I don’t really do it anymore. I don’t have much time. I also love listening to music and watching movies, especially romantic and adventure ones. One of my all time favourite is Titanic.

I’m 26 now. I work here at La Frianderie and I like it very much. In summers I work 7 days a week, 7am-4pm. I like that I have time in the afternoon to go swimming for example. My boyfriend and I have been together for 3 years now. I think we will get married one day. I certainly hope so. I believe there is no specific amount of time that a couple should be together before getting married. He should ask when he means it, when he feels it is the right thing to do. Kids? Yes, I do want kids, minimum 3!

From places around here I enjoy Nafplio most. We often go there for a day trip as it is not far. It’s lovely to go for a walk on the promenade, sit down and have coffee in one of the coffee shops, especially those opposite Bourdzi castle are very nice. My favourite beach in the area is Psyfta, just outside Galatas on the way to Methana. Another one I enjoy is Aliki, on the other side of Galatas.

If I could choose to visit other places in the world it would be Paris, Rome and Venice. They must be very beautiful and quite romantic too!

I do want to stay and make my life here in Galatas, Poros. I can’t imagine living anywhere else. I tried living in England, but I didn’t like it as much. Of course I used to get lonely in the beginning, especially during Christmas and Easter, but not anymore. Now I have my life here. I love it here.”